Thursday, January 3, 2008

Bill Belichick named AP Coach fo the Year, Roy Williams going to the pro bowl again & Ricky Williams contract renewed.

The only coach to lead his team to a 16-0 perfect regular season was honored today. Bill Belichick deservedly won the AP NFL coach of the year award. This is the second time is the past five years that Belichick has won the award. Belichick received 29 of the 50 votes. Second place went to Packers Coach Mike McCarthy, who lead the surprising Packers to a 13-3 record. Also getting votes were Dallas coach Wade Phillips, Jacksonville's Jack Del Rio (two each), and Indianapolis' Tony Dungy and Tampa Bay's Jon Gruden (one each).

Also in the news today was the NFL's announcement of the late Sean Taylor's replacement in the Pro Bowl. That honor went to Cowboys Strong Safety Roy Williams, giving the Cowboys an even dozen representatives in the Pro Bowl. Congrats to Roy, but I'm not sure he really deserves it. "I appreciate being the first alternate to go," said Williams, who is going to the Pro Bowl for the fifth straight year. "We are going to do something special for Sean and his family."

In the latest edition of as the Tuna turns, Ricky Williams has received a letter from Bill Parcells stating the dolphins intentions of renewing Williams contract for the '08 season.